My healthy failures!!

So I love to cook, nothing new there. But I also feel very obliged as a mum (especially of girls…. teenage years eek!) to try and be healthy. I always like to put a ‘healthy’ spin on things. But they never bloody work!!!! For instance……

Yesterday I tried to make raspberry and coconut pikelets for the girls afternoon tea. I had some buttermilk that needed to be used in the fridge (did I mention I hate throwing things away!?!). I found some organic spelt flour (prob from a previous healthy recipe attempt).

The recipe went something a little like this:

2 cups spelt flour

1/4 cup raw caster sugar

2 cups buttermilk

2 eggs

pinch of baking powder

50g melted butter

1/4 cup shredded coconut

1 cup frozen raspberries.

So the idea was to combine everything except the raspberries and make them and then add them on top. But my 3 year old had other ideas….. she added in HEAPS of raspberries and went mixing away…….

So far it didn’t look too bad…..

20131009-124832.jpg

It’s always said that you need to ‘ripen’ the pan (is that the word?) and the first pikelet/pancake will always be a failure. So I held out hope….. and a bit more hope…. then a tiny bit more…. then gave up and went and picked the big girls up from school.

Hoping that that would melt the frozen raspberries I tried again…. and again. No luck…

So whilst most people’s divine cooking attempts look like this….
Screen Shot 2013-10-09 at 12.56.29 PM

Mine looked like this….

20131009-124824.jpg

And so did the rest of them. But the up side is that the girls loved them and ate about 3 each!! Yaya.

So if anyone out there is like me and loves to cook, though it sometimes doesn’t look ‘cuisine photography ready’ – insert a huge high five here for the ugly healthy cooks! I’m sure I’ll be sharing more soon!

G

About crazysillylaugh

Travel (with and without kids)... Kids.... Cooking....Photography....Fun.
Gallery | This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

